The British Geophysical Association

Bullerwell Lecturer 2022

The BGA is delighted to announce that Dr Tim Craig from University of Leeds, is our Bullerwell Lecturer for 2022. The main focus of his research is the relation between intraplate earthquakes and tectonics. Tim completed his PhD in 2013 on the topic Constraining Lithosphere Rheology using Earthquake Seismology at Bullard Laboratories in University of Cambridge; this was followed by a PDRA position in pRais, before moving to Leeds in 2015.

British Seismology Meeting (BSM) 2022

The 2022 BSM will be held at Downing College Cambridge from September 12-14th. Registration and abstract submission are now open. The theme of the meeting is “multidisciplinary seismology”, and we welcome submissions across a broad range of topics in seismology and allied fields. Further information can be obtained from the BSM website at

Covid-19 Support Fund

The BGA is inviting applications for funding to help support those UK student geophysicists whose work or capacity to work has been affected by the COVID-19 pandemic. See the awards menu for details.

Bullerwell Lecturer 2021

The BGA is delighted to announce that Dr Lesleis Nagy from Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California San Diego, is our Bullerwell Lecturer for 2021. The main focus of his research is on numerical modelling of thermal stability in magnetic microstructures. Lesleis completed his PhD in 2015 on the topic “Parallelisation of Micromagnetic Models” at the School of Geosciences, University of Edinburgh; this was followed by a PDRA position at Edinburgh, before moving to California in 2017 to take up his current position.

Tony Watts wins AGU Maurice Ewing medal

Congratulations to Professor Tony Watts from the University of Oxford on receiving the AGUs Maurice Ewing medal. The list of award winners can be found here:

Outreach Funding Call Open

The BGA invites applications for funding for public outreach activities to promote understanding of, and engagement with, any area of geophysics. See for details.

Display your profile on the BGA website!

The BGA invites you to submit your research/professional profile to be displayed on the BGA website. See for details

Online Bullerwell Lecture

Rebecca Bell will deliver the online 2020 Bullerwell Lecture, hosted by the British Geophysical Association at 14:00 on Thursday 3 September 2020. For more details and to register your interest in attending the lecture, please go to

Applications for Gray-Milne Travel Bursary Open

The BGA invites applications for a travel bursary supported by the Gray-Milne Fund. See the Awards page for more details.

Bullerwell Lecture 2021 Nominations Open

The nomination process for the BGA’s Bullerwell Lecture is now open. See the Awards section for more details.

%d bloggers like this: