The British Geophysical Association

2016 PGRiP winners


Congratulations to our 2016 PGRiP presentation winners

Best Talk

1st Adam Robinson – Durham

Construction and Subduction of the Louisville Ridge Seamount Chain – Insights from Wide-Angle Seismic Imaging

2nd Rebecca Coats – Liverpool

Lava dome eruptions: testing the strain rate dependence of porous lava rheology


Best Poster

1st Jennifer Jenkins – Cambridge

Converted phases from sharp mid-mantle heterogeneity beneath Western Europe

2nd Aude Lavayssiere – Southampton

Imaging lithospheric discontinuities using S to P receiver functions


EAGE Erasmus award 2016

Congratulations to Anton Ziolkowski for winning this year’s  EAGE Erasmus award!

Details on the award and Dr Ziolkowski’s work can be found here on the EAGE website.

PDR Position – Durham


Postdoctoral Researcher on modelling global volatile cycling and mantle dynamics




21st May 2016


We seek a postdoctoral researcher with geodynamical modelling experience to study the volatile exchange between the deep Earth and the exosphere and the related secular evolution of mantle dynamics using spherical numerical 3D mantle dynamics models.

This post is part of a NERC funded consortium on “The Feedback Between Volatiles and Mantle Dynamics”, which includes team members from UCL, Liverpool, Manchester, Leeds, and Durham. The aim of this consortium is to understand the role of water and other volatiles on the mantle dynamics of the Earth and the operation of plate tectonics through time. This consortium is one of three funded consortia on “Volatiles, Geodynamics & Solid Earth Controls on the Habitable Planet”. More information on the consortia is available at

The postdoctoral research position will be full-time, fixed term (3 years), based at Durham University, UK, with summer 2016 as preferred start date. The successful applicant will closely collaborate with several team members of the consortium, in particular Dr Jeroen van Hunen (Durham) and Prof Carolina Lithgow-Bertelloni (UCL), and will interact with the other consortia members in NERC’s Deep Volatile Programme.

The closing date for applications is 21st May 2016. Further job details and application information can be found via . For any further questions, please contact me

Post-Graduate Newsletter

Check out the new edition of the Post-Graduate Newsletter here.

Geophysics profiles – the life of a freelance geophysicist

Check out the next geophysics profile!

What does it mean to be a geophysicist?

Geophysics profiles – the life of an exploration mining geophysicist

Check out the next geophysics profile!

What does it mean to be a geophysicist?

TIDES funding call

COST Action ES1401 –

TIDES: Time Dependent Seismology

Short Term Scientific Missions (STSM):

Last-minute call for missions to be completed in 2015!

Given residual availability of funds, COST Action ES1401 TIDES – Time Dependent Seismology invites further applications for Short Term Scientific Missions (STSMs). There is no formal deadline for these applications, that will be evaluated one by one as they are submitted. The only, strict and quite severe, time limit is that the mission must be completed by the end of the current grant period, i.e. December 31st, 2015.

STSMs are an instrument to support individual mobility from one to another COST country, to strengthen existing networks or promote new collaborations within the scientific objectives of TIDES ES1401 COST Action.

The applicant can be a PhD student, a PostDoc or staff member of an institution located in a TIDES ES1401 COST Participating Country or in a Near Neighbour Country (NNC), formally part of TIDES.

The host institution has to be sited in a TIDES COST Participating Country or in a Near Neighbour Country (NNC).

The up-to-date list of TIDES participating countries and NNCs can be found at:

Mission Duration

The STSM has to be completed by December 31st. There is a minimum duration of 5 working days and a maximum of 2 months for the current proposed STSM.

Application Procedure

To apply, the candidate should (both steps 1 and 2 are mandatory!):

  1. follow this link to apply online for a Short-term scientific mission:
  2. send a formal STSM application by e-mail to the STSM coordinator of the Action ES1401 – Graça Silveira , consisting of:
    • cover letter stating the science topic of the STSM (for information on this action science topics, please visit TIDES webpage;
    • a copy of the COST STSM Application form which has been filled online.
    • description/work-plan of the proposed visit (in PDF format); no more than 2 A4 pages;
    • a detailed CV;
    • letter of acceptance from the Host institute of the STSM;
    • letter from either the Host or Home institute indicating any extra support that may be given to the applicant, (if applicable);
    • in the case of a PhD student, a support letter for the proposed visit from the advisor.

After the STSM

1) The grantee is required to submit a short scientific report (main text of 3-5 pages with any attachments if necessary) to the STSM coordinator for approval by the STSM Committee within 15 days after the end date of the STSM keeping the STSM host institution in copy. This will include:

  • The objectives of the STSM;
  • A short description of the work carried out during the STSM;
  • A description of the main results obtained, stating (if applicable) any deviations from the initial purposes, possible impacts achieved or expected;
  • An indication of any problems that may have appeared;
  • A reference to future collaboration with the host institution (if applicable);
  • A letter by the host institution, confirming the successful execution of the STSM;
  • The actual results that may be used directly by the COST action (beyond the 2-5 pages, e.g. to be included in the action’s deliverables);
  • Other comments (if any).

Failure to submit the scientific report within 15 days will effectively cancel the grant.

2) The STSM Committee is responsible for approving the scientific report and informing the Grant Holder that the STSM has been successfully accomplished.

3) After receipt of the approval by email, the Grant Holder will execute the payment of the grant.

4) The grantee will prepare a presentation to be given in the next action meeting, stating all the contents of the short scientific report, summarizing the scope and outcomes of the STSM in terms of scientific breakthroughs, impacts and future actions.

Applicants Guide

For a detailed and complete description of the eligibility rules and financial support according to COST, please consult the VADEMECUM document (pages 28-30) here:

Also look at the additional notes from the Grant Holder, providing additional clarification on applicable fiscal issues here:

The mailing address is:


c/o INGV

Via Donato Creti 12

Bologna, BO 40128

Add to your address book

Geophysics Profiles – the life of a Volcanologist

Check out the first of our Geophysics profiles!

What does it mean to be a geophysicist?

Check out the first edition of the Postgrad Newsletter!

Check it out here:

Many thanks to our postgrad rep for putting it together.


%d bloggers like this: