The British Geophysical Association

Aftab Khan wins Award

Professor Aftab Khan has been awarded the Humming Bird Gold Medal for Loyal and Devoted Service to the State of Trinidad. The award recognises Prof. Khan’s work setting up a geophysics degree course in the University of the West Indies in St. Augustine that has now been accredited by the Geological Society of London. All at the BGA pass on their congratulations to Prof. Khan!

BGA Image Competition Deadline Extended

The BGA image competition deadline has been extended to 30th September 2019. See for more details.

Bullwerwell Lecturer 2020

The BGA is delighted to announce that Dr Rebecca Bell from Imperial College London is our Bullerwell Lecturer for 2020. Rebecca is a lecturer in the Department of Earth Sciences and Engineering, and studies tectonic evolution in a variety of settings using advanced controlled source methods and drilling data. She completed her PhD in marine geophysics at the University of Southampton in 2008 and spent several years as an active source seismologist at GNS in New Zealand before moving to Imperial College

Bullerwell Lecture Nominations Open

The nomination process for the BGA’s Bullerwell Lecture is now open. See the Awards section for more details.

PGRiP 2019

Register by 9th August for the Postgraduate Research in Progress (PGRiP) meeting in Bristol to be held on 29-30 August. See Upcoming Meetings for more details.

BGA Image Competition Open

The BGA image competition is now open! For more information, see the Awards section

Bullerwell Lecture at EGU

Dr. Sanne Cottaar from Cambridge University will present the Bullerwell Lecture at EGU at 19:00-20:00, Thursday 11th April, room F2, Austria Centre.  Dr. Cottaar studies the structure, composition, and dynamics of the deep Earth, and their relationship to surface processes and planet history. The talk abstract can be found at:

Congratulations to RAS Prize Winners

Congratulations to Prof. Kathy Whaler (University of Edinburgh) for winning the RAS Service Award and Dr. Tim Craig (University of Leeds) for winning the RAS Winton award G! Congratulations also to Sierd Cloetingh, who became an Honorary RAS Fellow. The full awards list can be found at:

Philip England wins Bucher Medal

Congratulations to Prof. Philip England (BGA Bullerwell lecturer in 1999 ) for being awarded the AGU Walter H. Bucher Medal – see

Outreach Funding

The British Geophysical Association invites applications for funding for public outreach activities to promote understanding of, and engagement with, any area of geophysics. For more information go to Outreach and the menu and select ‘funding’.

%d bloggers like this: